Sun Sports releases 2012-13 Tampa Bay Lightning broadcast schedule

With rampant uncertainty if the National Hockey League will be continuing business-as-usual come midnight Saturday, the NHL and it's partners much march on as if things would be proceeding like usual.

One of the pre-preseason rituals that has commenced this afternoon is the announcement of the Tampa Bay Lightning's broadcast schedule on Sun Sports, the team's official broadcast partner. Sun Sports will air 70 of the Lightning's games this season - including the (potential) season opener in Sunrise on October 13th and the home opener on October 16th.

Between the Sun Sports schedule and the already-announced national TV schedule, the Bolts have 80 games televised this season. There's a chance you could see WTOG 44 pick up additional broadcasts, as they have the past several years, to cinch all 82 games.

That is, if the season started on time and these dates were not affected by a work stoppage.

The release (modified to correct an error) is below.

TAMPA BAY LIGHTNING, SUN SPORTS

ANNOUNCE 2012-13 LOCAL BROADCAST SCHEDULE

TAMPA BAY - The Tampa Bay Lightning and Sun Sports unveiled the team's 70-game regional television schedule for the 2012-13 regular season today. Sun Sports, the regional television home of the Lightning, will broadcast 70 of the Lightning's 82 regular season games all in high definition.

Sun Sports is scheduled to air the majority of the Lightning's matchups, beginning with the season opener at the Florida Panthers on October 13 at 7:30 p.m. The network will then air the Lightning's home opener against the New York Islanders on October 16 at 7:30 p.m. Sun Sports will air all six matchups between the intra-state rival Bolts and Panthers.

"As we look towards our 20th Anniversary season, Sun Sports is going above and beyond the terms of our partnership this year to over-deliver for Lightning fans with a 70-game broadcast schedule and extended pre- and post-games shows for those broadcasts," said Lightning Chief Operating Officer Steve Griggs. "Additionally, with the introduction of a full broadcast studio, Lightning fans will be the beneficiaries of improved production quality and content each time they sit down to cheer on their favorite team."

Of the Lightning's first 33 games of the regular season, 32 will be broadcast on Sun Sports. They will also show 17 of the final 19 games on Tampa Bay's schedule to close out the season.

"The Lightning games on television are spectacular and we are happy this year to bring more games to our viewers," said Steve Tello, Sr. VP/GM of FOX Sports Florida and Sun Sports. "With the improvements to the Tampa Bay Times Forum and some technical advances, we're looking forward to an exciting 20th Anniversary season of the Tampa Bay Lightning on Sun Sports."

Play-by-play announcer Rick Peckham and color analyst Bobby "The Chief" Taylor will provide viewers with expert commentary throughout the season. Lightning analysts Paul Kennedy, Dave Andreychuk and Chris Dingman will also return to join the broadcasts as the hosts of LIGHTNING LIVE, Sun Sports' pregame show for home games, and extended postgame show for all telecasts.

Sun Sports' Lightning telecasts this season will feature some exciting new additions for viewers. Laura McKeeman will join the broadcast team as social media reporter for select Lightning home games and for the first time ever, all Lightning pre-and post-game shows for away games will originate from the FOX Sports Studio in Fort Lauderdale.

The popular INSIDE THE LIGHTNING series returns and will feature player profiles and episodes offering behind-the-scenes access to other aspects of the team and its operations -- all designed to bring the fans closer to their favorite team. There are seven new episodes scheduled to air throughout the upcoming season.

Eighty-one of the Lightning's 82 games will be available in the Tampa Bay market, on either local or national broadcasts.

SUN SPORTS TELECAST SCHEDULE:

Sat., Oct. 13

@ Florida

7:30 PM

SUN

Thu., Jan. 17

vs. New Jersey

7:30 PM

SUN

Tue., Oct. 16

vs. NY Islanders

7:30 PM

SUN

Sat., Jan. 19

vs. Washington

7:00 PM

SUN

Fri., Oct. 19

vs. Florida

7:30 PM

SUN

Mon., Jan. 21

@ Buffalo

7:00 PM

SUN

Tue., Oct. 23

vs. NY Rangers

7:30 PM

SUN

Tue., Jan. 22

@ Montreal

7:30 PM

SUN

Thu., Oct. 25

@ Calgary

9:00 PM

SUN

Tue., Jan. 29

vs. Florida

7:30 PM

SUN

Fri., Oct. 26

@ Edmonton

9:30 PM

SUN

Thu., Jan. 31

vs. Winnipeg

7:30 PM

SUN

Sun., Oct. 28

@ Vancouver

9:00 PM

SUN

Sat., Feb. 2

vs. Dallas

7:00 PM

SUN

Thu., Nov. 1

vs. Winnipeg

7:00 PM

SUN

Tue., Feb. 5

@ Philadelphia

7:00 PM

SUN

Sat., Nov. 3

vs. Minnesota

7:00 PM

SUN

Thu., Feb. 7

@ Washington

7:00 PM

SUN

Tue., Nov. 6

vs. Washington

7:30 PM

SUN

Sat., Feb. 9

@ NY Islanders

7:00 PM

SUN

Thu., Nov. 8

vs. Boston

7:30 PM

SUN

Sun., Feb. 10

@ NY Rangers

7:30 PM

SUN

Sat., Nov. 10

vs. Ottawa

7:00 PM

SUN

Tue., Feb. 12

vs. Carolina

7:30 PM

SUN

Tue., Nov. 13

vs. Carolina

7:30 PM

SUN

Sat., Feb. 16

@ Columbus

2:00 PM

SUN

Fri., Nov. 16

@ Anaheim

10:00 PM

SUN

Tue., Feb. 19

vs. Toronto

7:30 PM

SUN

Sat., Nov. 17

@ Los Angeles

10:30 PM

SUN

Thu., Feb. 28

vs. Pittsburgh

7:30 PM

SUN

Sat. Nov. 24

vs. Detroit

7:00 PM

SUN

Sat., Mar. 2

@ Boston

1:00 PM

SUN

Sun., Nov. 25

@ Florida

6:00 PM

SUN

Mon., Mar. 4

@ Philadelphia

7:00 PM

SUN

Tue., Nov. 27

@ Montreal

7:30 PM

SUN

Thu., Mar. 7

vs. Winnipeg

7:30 PM

SUN

Thu., Nov. 29

@ Ottawa

7:30 PM

SUN

Sat., Mar. 9

vs. Montreal

7:00 PM

SUN

Sat., Dec. 1

@ Winnipeg

2:00 PM

SUN

Mon., Mar. 11

vs. Carolina

7:30 PM

SUN

Tue., Dec. 4

vs. Philadelphia

7:30 PM

SUN

Thu., Mar. 14

vs. NY Islanders

7:30 PM

SUN

Sat., Dec. 8

vs. Colorado

7:00 PM

SUN

Sat., Mar. 16

vs. Phoenix

7:00 PM

SUN

Mon., Dec. 10

@ NY Rangers

7:00 PM

SUN

Mon., Mar. 18

vs. Philadelphia

7:30 PM

SUN

Tue., Dec. 11

@ Boston

7:00 PM

SUN

Wed., Mar. 20

@ Toronto

7:30 PM

SUN

Fri., Dec. 14

vs. New Jersey

7:30 PM

SUN

Sat., Mar. 23

@ Ottawa

7:00 PM

SUN

Sat., Dec. 15

@ Washington

7:00 PM

SUN

Sun., Mar. 24

@ Winnipeg

8:00 PM

SUN

Tue., Dec. 18

@ Nashville

8:00 PM

SUN

Fri., Mar. 29

@ Chicago

8:30 PM

SUN

Thu., Dec. 20

vs. Anaheim

7:30 PM

SUN

Sat., Mar. 30

@ Dallas

9:00 PM

SUN

Sat., Dec. 22

vs. Nashville

7:00 PM

SUN

Tue., Apr. 2

vs. Florida

7:30 PM

SUN

Wed., Dec. 26

@ Florida

7:30 PM

SUN

Thu., Apr. 4

vs. St. Louis

7:30 PM

SUN

Thu., Dec. 27

vs. Montreal

7:30 PM

SUN

Sat., Apr. 6

@ NY Islanders

1:00 PM

SUN

Sat., Dec. 29

vs. NY Rangers

7:00 PM

SUN

Sun., Apr. 7

@ New Jersey

3:00 PM

SUN

Thu., Jan. 3

@ Toronto

7:00 PM

SUN

Tue., Apr. 9

vs. Ottawa

7:30 PM

SUN

Sat., Jan. 5

@ Buffalo

7:00 PM

SUN

Thu., Apr. 11

vs. Pittsburgh

7:30 PM

SUN

Sun., Jan. 13

@ Carolina

1:30 PM

SUN

Tue., Jan. 15

vs. Toronto

7:00 PM

SUN

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Raw Charge

You must be a member of Raw Charge to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Raw Charge. You should read them.

Join Raw Charge

You must be a member of Raw Charge to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Raw Charge. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9355_tracker