In the first period of Tuesday’s game against the Islanders, Calvin de Haan’s hard hit knocked Jonathan Drouin out of the game. Ryan Callahan wouldn’t stand for that and drops the gloves.
When the dust settled, Callahan received two for interference, five for fighting and a 10-minute misconduct, de Haan received a two majors: fighting and interference. It was his first fight.
The Bolts announced at the second period that Drouin won’t be returning.
On Wednesday morning, Bob McKenzie tweeted that he doesn’t expect a hearing or supplemental discipline for de Haan. Perhaps the league thought the major interference was enough?
No hearing/supp discipline expected for de Haan hit on Drouin. There's obvious head contact but, for deHaan, apparently ruled "unavoidable"— Bob McKenzie (@TSNBobMcKenzie) November 2, 2016