Already member? Login first!

Comments / New

St. Louis repeats as Byng winner at 2011 NHL Awards show

Lightning assistant captain Martin St. Louis repeated as winner of the Lady Byng award on Wednesday night at the NHL Awards ceremony in Las Vegas, Nevada. Marty beat out Nicklas Lidstrom and Loui Eriksson, 994 votes, to Lidstrom’s 464 and Eriksson’s 347 votes.

St. Louis finished a distant 3rd in voting for the Hart Trophy, which went to Anaheim’s Corey Perry.

It was revealed earlier in the evening that forward Steven Stamkos, who had been nominated for the Ted Lindsay Award, would grace the cover of EA sports next version of their hockey video game franchise, NHL ’12.

St. Louis, Stamkos and Lightning General Manager Steve Yzerman were all nominated for awards tonight, with St. Louis’ Lady Byng win being the only hardware earned.

There’s a debate to be had about Mike Gillis wining General Manager of the year over Steve Yzerman. One might say Gillis has built his team over several years into a contender, thus why he deserves the accolade… The counter point would easily be that this is the GM of theYear award, not the GM Of Several Years of Building.

Congratulations to all of tonight’s winners.

If you enjoyed this article please consider supporting RawCharge by subscribing here, or purchasing our merchandise here.

Support RawCharge by using our Affiliate Link when Shopping Hockey Apparel !

Talking Points