Victor Hedman and Nikita Kucherov named NHL Second Team All-Stars

For both players it is their first nomination

Amidst all of the awkwardness that was the NHL Awards show, and the excitement of Vegas creating a new team out of thin air was the announcement of the 2016-17 NHL All-Star teams.  Not to be confused with the mid-season All-Star teams voted on by the fans, the postseason All-Star teams are voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

Two members of the Tampa Bay Lightning were elected to the second team.  Nikita Kucherov, fresh off a 40-goal season and Victor Hedman, who finished third in voting for the Norris Trophy were recognized for their excellent seasons.  For both players (who also represented the Lightning at the actual All-Star game in Los Angeles) it was the first time being named to the postseason team.

They join Pittsburgh’s Sidney Crosby, Chicago’s Artemi Panarin and Duncan Keith as well as Washington’s Braden Holtby on the second team.  The first team consists of Columbus’ Sergei Bobrovsky, Edmonton’s Connor McDavid (who continues to own Crosby in accolades for last season), Chicago’s Patrick Kane, Boston’s Brad Marchand, San Jose’s Brent Burns and Ottawa’s Erik Karlsson.

Even though the voting was done at the end of the regular season, it’s interesting to point out that Hedman and Kucherov were the only players from a non-playoff team earn the distinction. They received more votes than some prominent players such as Vladimir Tarasenko, Patrick Laine, Drew Doughty and Shea Weber. No other members of the Lightning received votes.

Hedman and Kucherov are the first Lightning players to earn the honor since Marty St. Louis was named a second team All-Star following the 2012-13 season. St. Louis remains the only player from the orginzation to have been named to the first team when he accomplished that in the Stanley Cup year of 2003-04.  Yup, despite scoring 60 goals in 2011-12, Steven Stamkos finished second to Evgeni Malkin that season.