Tampa Bay Lightning ECHL affiliate update: Ty Loney Selected for 2018 ECHL All-Star Classic

The Thunder forward, who is also on an AHL contract with Syracuse, will represent Adirondack for the ECHL’s North Division team on January 15th in Indy.

The ECHL has announced its rosters for the 2018 CCM ECHL All-Star Classic. The event is going to be held on Monday, January 15th, at 1:00 PM at the Indiana Farmers Coliseum in Indianapolis, home of the Indy Fuel.  The full day of events will be televised on NHL Network.

In the past, the ECHL would pit the host team against a roster of All-Stars, which would be representing the rest of the league. This is changing this year. For the first time, the ECHL will follow the NHL and the AHL format and hold a 3-on-3 round robin tournament between the league’s four divisions: North, South, Central, and Mountain.  The Skills Competition will also take place on the 15th, in between the semifinal matches.

One player from 26 teams, and two from the host Fuel, were selected by votes from league coaches, team captains, team media relations directors, broadcasters, and local media.  Forward Ty Loney, on an AHL/ECHL contract with Syracuse, was chosen as the Adirondack Thunder’s representative.

This is a well deserved first time selection for Loney, who currently leads the Thunder in goals (16), points (29), and power play goals (7), despite missing nearly three weeks due to a six game recall to Syracuse in early December.

It was originally reported that goaltender Nick Riopel would be the Thunder representative, but he is currently on recall with Syracuse and will most likely be unavailable.  Instead, Indy Fuel goaltender Etienne Marcoux, who actually plays within the Central Division, will be the North’s lone man in between the pipes.

All 27 players that were chosen are first time ECHL All-Star selections, and the list includes thirteen first year players and eight NHL draft picks.

The full rosters can be found here.