How to watch Hedman, Vasilevskiy, and Yzerman contend for the 2018 NHL Awards

Vote for who you think will win!

The 2018 NHL Awards

Time: 8:00 PM ET

Location: Hard Rock Cafe, Las Vegas

Broadcast/Streaming: NBCSN, NHL Network,, on twitter at #NHLAwards

The hockey community has had an intense year, and the NHL Awards are reflecting it. One focus of the awards will be upon the tragedies last season that most impacted NHL teams, including the Las Vegas shooting in 2017, the Humboldt bus accident, and the school shooting at Florida’s Marjorie Stoneman Douglas high school. NHL teams were deeply involved in raising money and promoting community action for the victims of each of these tragedies, and the league has brought together some of the people involved to help raise even more awareness for these efforts.

There are a few other changes from last year. Award nominees will be presenting awards, and a new award will debut: the Willie O’Ree Community Service award, presented to a member of the hockey community (not affiliated to the NHL) for their service. This award was voted on by fans, and the nominees are listed below.

Here’s a small primer of who’s up for which award, and what they mean.

The Stakes

Award: Willie O’Ree
Voters: Fans
Finalists: Debbie Bland, Neal Henderson, Darcy Haugan

Who wins the inaugural Willie O’Ree award?

Debbie Bland8
Neal Henderson7
Darcy Haugan5

Award: Hart Trophy
Description: Player judged most valuable to his team
Voters: Professional Hockey Writers’ Association
Finalists: Taylor Hall, Anze Kopitar, Nathan MacKinnon

Who wins the Hart?

Taylor Hall23
Anze Kopitar4
Nathan MacKinnon15

Award: Ted Lindsay
Description: Player’s choice for most outstanding player in the regular season
Voters: NHLPA
Finalists: Taylor Hall, Nathan MacKinnon, Connor McDavid

Who wins the Ted Lindsay?

Taylor Hall10
Nathan MacKinnon8
Connor McDavid21

Award: Jack Adams
Description: Coach who has contributed most to his team’s success
Voters: NHL Broadcasters’ Association
Finalists: Jared Bednar, Bruce Cassidy, Gerard Gallant

Who wins the Jack Adams?

Jared Bednar3
Bruce Cassidy5
Gerard Gallant32

Award: Mark Messier NHL Leadership
Description: Player who exemplifies great leadership on and off the ice
Voters: Mark Messier
Finalists: Deryk Engelland, Wayne Simmonds, Blake Wheeler

Who wins the Mark Messier Leadership Award?

Deryk Engelland20
Wayne Simmonds5
Blake Wheeler8

Award: King Clancy
Description: Player who exemplifies leadership and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community
Voters: A panel of representatives from the Professional Hockey Writers’ and Broadcasters’ associations
Finalists: Daniel and Henrik Sedin, PK Subban, Jason Zucker

Who wins the King Clancy?

PK Subban14
Jason Zucker0

Award: Calder Trophy
Description: Best Rookie
Voters: Professional Hockey Writers’ Association
Finalists: Matthew Barzal, Brock Boeser, Clayton Keller

Who wins the Calder?

Matthew Barzal21
Brock Boeser18
Clayton Keller0

Award: Bill Masterton
Description: Best defeater of adversity
Voters: Professional Hockey Writers’ Association
Finalists: Brian Boyle, Roberto Luongo, Jordan Staal

Who wins the Masterton?

Brian Boyle41
Roberto Luongo1
Jordan Staal0

Award: Lady Byng
Description: Sportsmanship
Voters: Professional Hockey Writers’ Association
Finalists: Aleksander Barkov, William Karlsson, Ryan O’Reilly

Who wins the Lady Byng?

Aleksander Barkov8
William Karlsson22
Ryan O’Reilly4

Award: Norris
Description: Best Defenseman
Voters: Professional Hockey Writers’ Association
Finalists: Drew Doughty, Victor Hedman, PK Subban

Who wins the Norris?

Drew Doughty1
Victor Hedman52
PK Subban1

Award: Selke (or “The Patrice Bergeron Award”)
Description: Best defensive/two-way forward
Voters: Professional Hockey Writers’ Association
Finalists: Patrice Bergeron, Sean Couturier, Anze Kopitar

Who wins the Selke?

Patrice Bergeron25
Sean Couturier8
Anze Kopitar3

Award: Vezina
Description: Best Goalie
Voters: NHL GMs
Finalists: Pekka Rinne, Andrei Vasilevskiy, Connor Hellebuyck

Who wins the Vezina?

Pekka Rinne9
Andrei Vasilevskiy48
Connor Hellebuyck3

Award: GM of the Year
Voters: “A 41-member panel that included all 31 general managers, five NHL executives and five media members”
Finalists: Kevin Cheveldayoff, George McPhee, Steve Yzerman

Who wins GM of the Year?

Kevin Cheveldayoff2
George McPhee17
Steve Yzerman36